St. Patty’s

Greening the river

For the first time in as long as I can remember, did St. Patty’s somethin’ proper this year. (When your name’s Brian, there’s certain expectations placed on you, traceably Irish or not.) This year gathered friends together for some music at a local pub. (I invited, they gathered.) We got a healthy share of people showing (more than I expected anyway, given the early start and the distance involved, but the band’s worth a little inconvenience).

I’ve got to give it up to the folks at the Loafing Leprechaun for knowing how to handle a large group of music lovers in varying states of inebriation. (It’s all about separating the stage area from the bar.) Highest kudos of course go to the BorderCollies and family, who once again put on a great show, complete with a few of my favorite cuts. Well worth the 20 minutes it took to find a place to park.

Yvonne put up a few pics… I’m still cameraless so I’m not much help in that department.

Other than that, it was pretty standard. People didn’t think I was wearing a proper green (to be fair, those that didn’t see green saw me under some mighty poor lighting this time around), saw some pics of this year’s greening of the Chicago River (thank goodness for flickr), and shared a moment with fellow expatriate Chicagoans.

Leave a comment

Filed under bri, chicago

Leave a Reply

