Four things

I’ve been resisting this one, but after getting tagged with a direct email from somebody I haven’t talked to in ages, what can I do?

Four jobs I’ve had

  1. Film crew intern
  2. Visual Merchandiser (The Container Store)
  3. Assistant Instructional Designer
  4. Babysitter

Four (to six) movies I can watch over and over

  1. Far Away So Close
  2. Princess Mononoke
  3. Kundun
  4. The Man Who Planted Trees
  5. The Muppet Movie
  6. Annie Hall

Four places I’ve lived

  1. Chicago (suburbs)
  2. San Francisco
  3. Atlanta
  4. Quito, Ecuador
  5. Various places on the Internet (while living in most of the above)

Four TV shows I love

  1. Angel
  2. Firefly (what there was of it)
  3. The West Wing (the Sorkin years)
  4. The Boondocks

Four places I’ve vacationed

  1. Chicago
  2. Nauvoo, IL
  3. Mesa, AZ
  4. Ashenvale Forest

Four of my favorite dishes

  1. Naan
  2. Yapingachos (potato dumplings with egg)
  3. Kafta
  4. Jasmine chicken

Four sites I visit daily

  1. Newsgator
  2. LiveJournal
  3. Blogspot
  4. Flickr

Four places I’d rather be right now

  1. Playing with my girls
  2. Playing card games with my son
  3. Chillin’ with my wife on the couch
  4. Lying in a sunbeam, sleeping in Saturday morning at a beach house at the start of a week and a half of vacation
5 Comments

Filed under bri, memes

5 responses to “Four things

  1. what exactly does a visual merchandiser do?

    what is kafta? is it like kafka in food form? (i know that’s not funny. but i typed it anyway)

    heard the new flaming lips? or morrissey (i don’t know if you like morrissey, but i figured i’d ask anyway)?

  2. Kafta=lebanese BBQ
    Kafka=writer of surreal tales

    C-snail “just chiming in”

  3. Kafta’s… yeah… what C-snail said. It’s very spiced hamburger like. Reminds me of Ecuadorian hamburgers, but middle eastern. They’re awesome… Though not nearly as awesome as Duane’s Franz Kafka Rock Opera!

    I haven’t heard the new Flaming Lips yet (still need to get hold of the Soft Bulletin, gaaah!). I like some Morrisey, but lately it’s been all Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust, occasional flashes of Journey, and will soon be all about The Garden (we’re performing it next month). Actually, look at my profile on last.fm and it’ll tell you what I’ve really been listening to.

    I’m hoping to get going on Randy Newman’s Faust sometime soon. There’s some nice gospel riffs in there, and from what I hear a nice interpretation of the story. (I seem to be in a programmatic music groove lately.)

    Visual merchandising–you stock shelves, unload inventory shipments, keep the place looking nice, and help customers. It’s their high falootin’ word for stockers, but TCS does a pretty good job of making things better than your typical retail experience on either side of the business. Visual merch’s duties are largely stocking, but all the retail jobs at TCS are best of breed. They tend to get great people and teach folks to enjoy the work together. (Unloading truck was altogether too much fun.)

  4. I succumbed as well, mang… And like you and Yvonne, posted mine in turn.

  5. yay! thanks for posting your response brian! man, though, where you’d rather be certainly got me misty.. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

