sf

Tuesday morning marked the anniversary of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, so a little more than usual, I’ve had Fog City on my mind.

sparkletack logo
Seems a great moment to bring up Sparkletack, one of my favorite podcasts, full of musings and mutterings from one of my favorite cities. Richard Miller, who apparently does the podcast and accompanying blog as a labor of love, does a fine job of bringing together and presenting nuggets of history from a town with richer veins than all the north California hills.

His best podcasts are those focusing on famous visitors to the city, or San Francisco’s more colorful residents. Interesting outside visits include the “left coast” adventures and writings of Robert Lewis Stevenson, Rudyard Kipling, and Samuel Clemens, before and after becoming Mark Twain. My favorites by far though are his profiles of Philo T. Farnsworth, inventor of the television, and Emperor Norton, a unique figure if ever there was one.

Enjoy.

Technorati Tags: ,

1 Comment

Filed under podcasts

One response to “sf

  1. I never will forget, Mmmm…Jeanette MacDonald
    Just to think of her, it gives my heart a pang
    I never will forget, how that brave Jeanette
    Just stood there in the ruins and sang, and sang…

    San Francisco, open your golden gate
    You’ll let nobody wait outside your door
    San Francisco, here is your wanderin’ one
    Saying I’ll wander no more.

    Other places only make me love you best
    Tell me you’re the one in all the golden west
    San Francisco, I’m coming home again
    Never to roam again…

    San Francisco, right when I arrive
    I really come alive…
    And you will laugh to see me,
    Perpendicular, hanging on a cable car

    San Francisco, let me beat my feet
    Up and down Market Street
    I’m gonna climb Nob Hill, just to watch it get dark
    From the top of the mark

    There’s Brooklyn Bridge, London Bridge,
    And the Bridge of San Louis Rey
    But the only bridge, that’s a real gone bridge,
    Is the bridge accross the bay

    San Francisco, I’m coming home again,
    Never to roam again, by gum
    San Francisco, I don’t mean Frisco
    San Francisco, here I come!

Leave a Reply

