Resurgens

This month has brought some much needed spring cleaning to my blogging. After a number of months focusing my personal bloggin’ on Vox, I’ve found that the “even your Mom can use Vox” features are slowing me down and I’m missing some of the features of a more traditional blog engine.

So I’ve moved things back to WordPress.com, the free hosted software I most liked last time I was testing.

Another key change… in the past year I’ve taken to writing in both spanish and english. This got awkward on a single blog, as presenting in 2 languages on one blog presents only so many options, each with significant problems.

  1. Write entries in one language and include an auto-translate link
    • Pro: write once and in one language, minimal confusion for readers of the primary language
    • Con: auto translation is full of fail, people who read the secondary language have no navigation cues
  2. Write entries in both languages, put both in one entry or post each entry twice
    • Pro: everybody can see the entry, original writing in both languages
    • Con: everybody has to scroll past content they can’t or don’t want to read, must write everything twice, don’t write a lot of entries due to increased writing load

In the end it looks like it will be easier to split the blog into 2 instead of double posting everything. I’ve had complaints about “stumbling over entries in multiple languages” and I know there’s things I “was going to” write that I never got to because I didn’t think I’d find time to write about it twice.

So from here forward, English content can be found here at Qinglong yanyue dao and Spanish content at Yanyue dao.

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging

Leave a Reply

